Dogfish IPA glass

Dogfish IPA GlassIf you’re involved in the craft beer world, and who isn’t these days, you certainly know about the big reveal a few weeks ago of the new Dogfish IPA Glass.  The glass is designed to enhance the experience of hop forward beers.

Being a skeptic about the necessity of using certain glasses for certain beer styles, i.e., I don’t like people telling me that to properly enjoy a craft beer you MUST have a specifically shaped glass (that kind of prescriptive smacks of elitism), I wasn’t sure I really wanted to buy the DIG (Dogfish IPA Glass).

I have enjoyed many beers (perhaps millions) in pint glasses, in water glasses, in plastic Solo cups, and, dare I say, even out of the bottle or can!

All this is not to say there might not be some “science” behind using certain glass shapes with certain beers – I would never deny science – but I am not fond of people getting all up in everyone’s beer drinking business.  I also admit I am very partial to certain glasses, e.g., my New Belgium globe glass, and I just bought a super cool snifter from Craft Geer that I know is going to be my new go-to glass.

Despite the controversy (summed up with all the players by A Perfect Pint) that brewed (yes, I went there) when the Dogfish IPA glass was released, I was intrigued, not because I thought it was going to make a HUGE difference in my enjoyment of IPAs, but because it looked great.  I ordered two.  The glasses arrived quickly – and I fell in love – with the way it felt in my hand, the lightness of the glass (it is  made by Spiegelau so that explains the craftsmanship) and the way it looked with a beautiful, golden IPA (in this case, Stone’s Ruination IPA) poured into it.

According to Calagione:  “As you’re tilting your glass against your face, it creates more resistance to the liquid, which pushes more carbon dioxide gas and hop aromatics out of the liquid and into the balloon-shaped chamber of the upper glass”.  And guess what?  That happened.  Spinirish said: “I am a convert”.

Glass snob I am not — but I do fancy a great glass with which to enjoy my craft beer!  These glasses are artwork worthy.  

Below is a video of Ken Grossman (Sierra Nevada) and Sam Calagione (Dogfish Head) talking about the process of finding this special IPA glass.  I enjoyed the video – it made me like my glass even more.

 

